Heey Guys,

I am back again with another exciting but this time a really deep blog post. This design assignment is all about creating some sort of graphic or in other words, create a poster. The assignment tells us to create a contradictory poster like one of those old anti motivational posters, for example, take a look at this anti motivational poster below. Instead of taking a “nice” and “calm” approach to telling someone to get over their ex, its taken a much firmer yet sarcastic approach.

demotivation21

Although, I didn’t want to make one of these anti motivational, firm posters; I interpreted this design assignment in the completely opposite way. I wanted to inspire the audience in some kind of way so in order to create an inspiration, my final media product consists of a moving motivational poster.

Check it out below..

Now it all comes down to how exactly did I create my motivational poster, why have I chosen these specific images and quotes and why have I used different tools such as web and creative tools to create my motivational poster.

To begin with, I had chosen this one image I photographed when I was on holiday last year in Albufeira, Portugal.

This is what I photographed:

img_4306-1

 Now, I am about to get philosophical over here; this image holds a lot of sentimental value to me as it is supposed to show that “you exist” and “there is no land or sky, there is just water and you, only you.” This image also takes a lot of inspiration from my favourite Bollywood movie,

“ZINDAGI NA MILEGI DOBARA” (You only live once).

Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara has been my all time favourite movie, its a story about friendship and how you should overcome your fears and this image takes a lot of inspiration from one particular scene in the movie.

Check out this cool sea poetry video below:

 

For those of you who have absolutely no idea what is going on and are just relying on the characters facial expressions whilst watching this clip, let me give you some context! As you can see, the main protagonist is seen crying on the boat and this is because he finally finds himself, after diving in the deep blue, he knows that he exists. Also there is  dialogue in the background which adds to the sentimental value and that dialogue is known as one of the most famous “Farhan Akhtar Poetries”.

Here is the English translation for the poem that seen playing in the background of this scene:

Pighle neelam sa behta ye sama,
neeli neeli si khamoshiyan,
na kahin hai zameen na kahin aasmaan,
sarsaraati hui tehniyaan pattiyaan,
keh raheen hai bas ek tum ho yahan,
bas main hoon,
meri saansein hain aur meri dhadkanein,
aisi gehraiyaan, aisi tanhaiyaan,
aur main… sirf main.
Apne hone par mujhko yakeen aa gaya.

And here is the English translation:

The moment seems to flow like a molten sapphire and there’s deep blue silence,
Neither there is earth below, nor sky above,
The rustling branches, leaves are saying that only you are here,
Only me, my breath and my heartbeat, 
Such deepness, such loneliness and me only me,
It all makes me believe in my existence.

So in order to make my poster a motivational and inspirational one, I took my favourite lines from this poetry, “only me, my breath and my heartbeat” and “it’s only me” and I incorporated it into my poster. I chose these lines because I feel it describes me as a person a little bit as I am also like the character in this scene who is trying to find herself.

Got a bit sentimental there, didn’t we?!

Now, its all about how I put everything together to make one final piece and what kind of tools have I used to create my “magnificent masterpiece”.

Well, for starters I wanted to build my way up and get professional in terms of design as I go. Instead of starting directly with after effects, a software I am really familiar with, I wanted to begin with using certain web tools first, something I am not familiar with. I wanted to learn how to make a poster or a meme from the provided layout before I go ahead and start from scratch.

So the first web tool I used was a meme generator. I used a meme generator because I thought maybe of adding some humour or sarcasm in this poster so to expand my idea, I did some research by simply typing in “memes” and “inspirational memes” on google and this is what came up and I found absolutely interesting.

I like these three memes because of how they are presented, each meme is presented with either an image in the middle with writing at the top or  a full page image with text embedded on it. From these images, I decided that my meme will consist of a full page photograph with text embedded both at the top and bottom of my poster.

Before going onto the Meme Generator and creating my meme/poster, I thought of experimenting taking of a completely different meaningful photograph on Snapchat as Snapchat provides a really simple and easy way to embed text onto a full page photograph. The only disadvantage of using Snapchat is that there is a very limited word count and because of that I was not able to complete the text. Therefore I took the image on Snapchat and shared it on my Instagram page where I was able to edit my photograph and include the complete inspirational quote.

Here is my Snapchat example:

image-with-a-meaning

And here is my Instagram example:

Instagram

So, before actually creating my final meme, I did a lot of research and experimentation. This Instagram and Snapchat experimentation not only shows where and how the text can be embedded onto a photograph or how an image can be edited but it also introduces “David Gauntlett’s” idea of “Making is connecting” and how construction acts as a form of connection. Gauntlett argues that through making things, people engage with the world and create connections with each other. From sit back and be told culture, now media is all about making and doing culture. So the process of creating a motivational poster using the online Meme Generator whilst experimenting and sharing different interpretations of the term “motivation” makes everything a making and doing culture.  For example, creating different interpretations of the term “motivation” is often made on social tools such as Snapchat and Instagram and from these social tools, the final product created can be shared online onto websites, personal blogs or even other social networking sites such as Twitter and Facebook and this introduces a “notice me” element. As Gauntlett argues that this shift is essential for the happiness and survival of modern societies as people are inventing their own learning and entertainment rather than being provided information on television and not doing anything about it.

Before I went off track, creating a meme on the online meme generator is fairly simple. All you have to do is import the image you want and simply add your text onto the image and click save.

There you go, your meme is created and saved. Here take a look at what I created:

Meme Generator

only-me-my

See, pretty simple to do?!

Although creating a poster or meme is very easy and simple to do on this website, I think for me, it doesn’t hold that sentimental value. I would imagine my final product to consist of inspirational music and several photographs including this one and that as a whole would do justice to the poetry quote, “Only me, my breath and my heartbeat.. its only me.”

Therefore, I decided to create a  moving image poster only because I thought it would do justice to my text, it would make my text seem even more meaningful. I don’t like how there is a fixed font on the meme generator and how the text ends with a full stop where it should end with three dots so it makes the audience ponder upon it. Although I do love the set image but I think it would hold a even more sentimental value if there were more images included.

I created my final piece on Adobe After Effects:

Its me…

These are the images that I used in order to create this moving image motivational poster:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I photographed all of these images in Portugal last year, as you can tell from the images, I had a very moving, emotional experience on this trip an therefore I photographed what “peace” and “tranquillity” in my eyes look like.

The next thing was to put everything together including the text on after effects to make the best inspirational, meaningful and motivational poster I’ve ever made. Like I mentioned before, after effects is a relatively easy software for me to use but for those of you who have absolutely no idea on how to use after effects then my suggestion to you is YOUTUBE TUTORIALS!!

Instead of going through each and every single process of how I created my moving image poster on after effects, I am going to tell you the important thing I did that made a massive difference to the final product.

fullsizerenderThe screenprint above shows that the original image that was used when creating the meme earlier has been embedded in the text itself. This very simple to do on after effects after creating your composition and text, all of you have to do is click the “toggles” tab at the bottom of the editing panel and after clicking that, you will see a “trikmatte” column. From that “trikmatte” column you can either choose “alpha matte” or “luma matte” and doing this will enable your image to be embedded into the text.

Seems a bit tricky to do?! Well, watch this YouTube tutorial alongside with others again and again so that you understand how to go about this..

dsdsd

Adobe After Effects… WOO

The next key step is to create another composition, drag it down and include a picture on that composition. Then, be able to create 2 more blank compositions across the timeline and include the rest of the images alongside the text.

Take a look at this beginners tutorial on how to use Adobe After Effects:

The final step is to be able to add music and all you have to do is drag your selected track onto a new composition underneath the motion graphics. For this specific poster, I stuck the whole Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara theme, so I found the instrumental track of the original poetry and added it to my moving image poster.

So after three main steps alongside with a lot of after effects tutorials to get your head around, you will have your completed moving image poster.

It’s only me!

That’s it from me, guys. Hope you have enjoyed my blog post, check out my moving image poster on the ds106 twitter page. 🙂

DS106

I’ll be back soon with plenty more inspirational blog posts.

Follow me on

Twitter Facebook Soundcloud

Love x

a7ae7f8a3f7710bf39b05a5f79a7fddb

Leave a Reply

